Answered By: Special Collections
Last Updated: May 31, 2023     Views: 230

The GC Presidents and their tenures are as follows:
Dr. J. Harris Chappell, 1891-1905 
Dr. Marvin McTyeire Parks, 1905-1927 
Dr. J. Luther Beeson, 1927-1934 
Dr. Guy Herbert Wells, 1934-1953 
Dr. Henry King Stanford, 1953-1956 
Dr. Robert E. ("Buzz") Lee, 1956-1967 
Dr. J. Whitney Bunting, 1968-1981 
Dr. Edwin G. Speir, Jr., 1981-1996 
Dr. Ralph W. Hemphill (Acting President), January 1997-July 1997 
Dr. Rosemary DePaolo, August 1997-June 2003 
Dr. David G. Brown, (Interim President) July 2003-December 2003 
Dr. Dorothy Leland, January 2004-2011
Dr. Stas Preczewski, (Interim President) July 2011 - July 2012
Dr. Paul Jones, (Interim President) July 2012 - August 31, 2012
Dr. Steven Dorman, September 2012 - September 2021

Cathy Cox, October 2021 - present

Related Topics

Send Us a Chat

Librarians are ready to answer your questions online through our chat service. When chat is offline, you can still get help by using our question form on this page or using the Frequently Asked Questions.